"Class B" Tournaments

1. State Tournament for "High School Departments" in "Graded Schools," 1923-1927 at Hamline

The tournament was "open" in 1923 and 1924, but it got too big in 1924. So in 1925, 1926 and 1927, district and regional tournaments were played to determine which teams would play at the state level.

1923

First Round

Bellingham 20 Medford 14

Ulen def. Dover

North Branch 30 Garden City 12

Eden Valley 20 Belview 7

Brewster 30 Grove City 6

Delhi 17 Greenbush 16 (OT)

Riverton def. Gibbon

Bloomington 25 Taylors Falls 24 (OT)

Battle Lake 24 Lakeside 6

East Chain 23 Bertha 10

Second Round

Pequot def. McGregor

Rosemount 19 Russell 16

Raymond 19 Deephaven 16

Ulen 25 Bellingham 23 (OT)

Eden Valley 27 North Branch 7

Brewster 21 Delhi 18 (OT)

Bloomington 22 Riverton 16

East Chain 20 Battle Lake 5

Quarter-Finals

Brewster 16 Eden Valley 15

Pequot 15 Rosemount 12

East Chain 24 Bloomington 4

Raymond 29 Ulen 20

Semi-Finals

Raymond 23 Pequot 5

East Chain 32 Brewster 14

3rd Place

Brewster 34 Pequot 12

Championship

East Chain 35 Raymond 26

Outstanding Players

McLean, East Chain, G (MVP)

W. Olson, Battle Lake, G

Pitsanberger, Ulen, F

McAdam, East Chain, F

Lund, Raymond, C

1924

First Round

Stewart 22 East Chain 7

Magnolia 23 Barrett 6

Brewster 29 Triumph 11

Hitterdal 25 Wilmont 7 Henning 30 South St. Paul Jr. High 17

Erskine 30 St. Clair 2

Ceylon 15 Rosemount 11

Byron 16 Waldorf 12

Buffalo Lake 12 Walnut Grove 6

Second Round

Henning 40 Taylors Falls 19

North Branch 23 Murdock 22

Brewster 13 Sebeka 12

Erskine 17 Garden City 0

Montrose 22 Parkers Prairie 11

Balaton 28 Ulen 14

Lake City 15 Bloomington 10

Byron 20 Bricelyn 17

Third Round

Scores not available

Quarter-Finals

Buffalo Lake 29 Battle Lake 18

Stewart 19 Westbrook 16

North Branch 25 Hitterdal 11

Brewster 19 Henning 9

Semi-Finals

Scores not available

3rd Place

North Branch 15 Buffalo Lake 14

Championship

Stewart 12 Brewster 7

Pequot 16 Brownton 14 Stewart 27 Deephaven 21 Ceylon 10 Elkton 5 Westbrook 35 Wanamingo 14 Pemberton 32 Hitterdal 9 Magnolia wins 20-10 (opponent not identified) 1925 **First Round** 3rd Place Chisago City 22 Peterson 13 Henning 25 Buffalo Lake 15 Henning 18 Magnolia 9 Ceylon 24 Clara City 13 Championship Buffalo Lake 31 Hitterdal 25 Chisago City 17 Ceylon 15 **Semi-Finals Outstanding Player** Chisago City 12 Henning 10 Henry Meyer, Hitterdal Ceylon 19 Buffalo Lake 17 1926 **First Round** Semi-Finals Peterson 35 Stewart 25 Brewster 27 Peterson 26 Hitterdal 20 Ceylon 13 Brewster 22 Verndale 15 Hitterdal 19 Chisago City 14 Ceylon 18 Milan 16 Championship Brewster 24 Hitterdal 22 **Outstanding Player** Nelson, Brewster, scored 30 pts in semi and final 1927 First Round 3rd Place Henning 40 Garden City 15 Watertown 19 Felton 18 Watertown 28 Beardsley 12 Chisago City 27 Walnut Grove 12 Championship Felton 27 Peterson 12 Henning 28 Chisago City 18 Semi-Finals **Outstanding Player** Henning 28 Watertown 21 Otto Rortvedt, Henning, described as "giant center," Chisago City 29 Felton 20 scored 37 points in 3 games, 15 in one

2. District Tournaments 1929-1930

All districts were allowed to crown a Class B, as well as a Class A champion in 1929 and 1930, and most did. But, the Class A and B champions would meet at the district level for the district title. Only one Class B champion would go on to win the district tournament and the regional tournament against Class A opponents to advance to the state tournament. That was Columbia Heights in District 14 in 1930.

District	1929 Class B Champion	1930 Class B Champion
1	Middle River	Greenbush
2	Twin Valley	Twin Valley
3	Hitterdal	Felton

4		
5	Nevis	
6	Marble	Marble
7	Leonidas	
8	Willow River	Willow River
9	Bertha	Bertha
10	Beardsley	Boyd
11	Menagha	Menagha
12	Brooten	Eden Valley
13	Grove City	Howard Lake
14	Columbia Heights	Columbia Heights
15	Deephaven	Carver
16	Braham	Braham
17		
18		
19	Balaton	Balaton
20	Morgan	Morgan
21		Waconia
22		
23	Garden City	Garden City
24		Minnesota Lake
25	Wanamingo	Wanamingo
26	Elgin	Elgin
27		Hills
28	Trimont	Ceylon
29	Ellendale	Ellendale
30	Peterson	

3. District and Regional Tournaments 1944-1948

Regions were allowed to conduct Class B district tournaments in the 1940s, and most did not. Only Region 1 and Region 8 did so, Region 8 from 1944 to 1946 and Region 1 in 1948. In each of these three cases, eight district champions were crowned. The A and B champions from each district played one another, but unlike 1929 and 1930, that game was considered to be a regional tournament game and the regional to be an eight-team tournament.

Region 8, 1944-1945-1946

Over 3 seasons, 12 Class A district champions played against 12 Class B district champions in Region 8. The small schools did pretty well, winning 5 of 12 games. The winners were:

1944—Hendrum from District 30B, and Stephen from District 32B

1945—Erskine from District 30B, and Stephen again from District 32B

1946—Erskine again from District 30B

None of these 5 Class B teams won a second regional game, however.

1944—Hendrum 46 Stephen 32 in the semis, both from Class B. Hendrum lost to Bemidji 44-34 in the Region 8 final. In the state tournament, Bemidji defeated Brownton, lost to Crosby-Ironton, and defeated Rochester to take 3rd place. Bemidji finished the season rated #3 in the state while Hendrum was unranked.

1945—Stephen beat Erskine 36-35 in the semis, both from Class B. Bemidji hammered Stephen 65-31 in the Region 8 final. Bemidji lost to Mpls. Patrick Henry, then defeated Faribault and Red Wing to take 5th place at the state tournament. Bemidji finished the year rated #2 while Stephen was unranked.

1946—Erskine, Class B champion from District 30, was the only first round winner in Section 8, and they lost to Roseau 46-44 in the section semi-final. Roseau then beat Crookston 37-29 in the region final, after Crookston had beaten perennial power Bemidji 46-45 in the other semi-final. Roseau lost 2 games to Austin and Tower-Soudan at the state tournament, and nobody from Region 8 was ranked in the top ten that year.

Region 1, 1948

In Region 1 in 1948, the four Class A champions each met one of the Class B champions, but from a different district. The 8 district champions were:

District	Class A champion	Class B champion
1	Chatfield	Mabel
2	Albert Lea	Lyle
3	Rochester	Plainview
4	Waseca	Kenyon

The only Class B champion to win a first round game was Kenyon, who defeated Albert Lea. Ironically, this was the only year from 1939 to 1970 that Albert Lea was able to win the District 2 title. Ordinarily, of course, it lost to Austin in the District. Kenyon then defeated the District 1A champion, Chatfield, 27-23, making it the only Class B team to get to a regional final in this experimental era of the 1940s. In the regional final, the District 4A champion, Waseca, defeated the District 4B champion, Kenyon, 50-25. Heading into the state tournament, Waseca was noted for its two "midget" guards, Emerson "Pinky" Yess and Charlie Dunn. At the state tournament, however, Waseca's 6-5 post Lawrence "Shide" Krause, dominated the spotlight, leading all scorers at the 1948 tournament with 57 points or 19 ppg.

After 40 years of debate, the MSHSL decided to bifurcate into 2 classes beginning in 1971. The record of small school tournaments from 1923 to 1948 did not specifically suggest that the small schools could or would compete with the bigger schools. And, yet, from 1960 to 1974, the smaller schools—Edgerton, Marshall, Luverne, Sherburn, St. James and Melrose—competed quite well, winning six state titles in 15 seasons. The only comparative period in Minnesota state high school basketball history was from 1931 to 1942, when smaller schools won 8 of 12 state titles.